Day 6: Zucchini “Meat”balls

Day one of the first official full week of this experience. We actually haven’t eaten out since Sunday, January 29, but that was before we made the decision to go the whole month without letting someone else make our food for us and serve us and pamper us and make us delicious food. This is fine.

Day six’s meal was another Skinny Taste recipe. It was one that I knew the girls would never touch, but I’ve been wanting to try it for some time. Zucchini is my favorite vegetable and I want a zoodler soooo badddd! Since I can’t have zucchini noodles, I’ll have to settle for Zucchini Meatballs for now!

To start, I grated three zucchinis. Easy enough!

image1.JPG

You can see in this photo how nerdy I am with my recipes. I handwrite them all out and I have a recipe binder I keep everything organized in.

After cooking the garlic until golden, the shredded zucchini went into a pan to cook and evaporate some of the moisture. Salt and pepper added to taste.

image4.JPG

Meanwhile, I got the other ingredients ready. A beaten egg, basil, grated Pecorino Romano cheese and breadcrumbs.

Look at this fancy grated cheese.image3.JPG

Mixed it all up:

image5.JPG

Made the balls:

image7.JPG

They went in the oven for 25 minutes and meanwhile we go the noodles and the ground turkey ready for the girls.

image8.JPG

The zucchini meatballs simmer in the sauce for five minutes and then everything was ready to eat!

image9.JPG

We also had some salad. The girls had apples. All in all, it was a good meal, but I was kind of disappointed in the consistency of the meatballs. Usually when cooking with shredded zucchini, you squeeze the extra moisture out before cooking and this recipe never called for that. I think next time I make these, I’ll either squeeze moisture out of the zucchini before cooking, or cook them longer on the stove to evaporate the moisture. This meal was high in fiber and low in calories so the adults enjoyed it. And that’s all the matters (just kidding).

Leave a Reply

